Sound in DEV-MODE silent

Need help with using DizzyAGE then look here
Post Reply
User avatar
Kalle Neumann
Your Backpack is Empty
Posts: 24
Joined: Sat Jan 18, 2020 5:16 pm
Location: Germany

Sound in DEV-MODE silent

Post by Kalle Neumann » Tue Jan 21, 2020 8:15 am

Good Morning all.

Since I am often in DEV-MODE to test things, I occasionally switch the sound on / off with F9.
Unfortunately, he is now still silent with every restart. And I can't turn it on with F9.
I can't explain that because I didn't change anything in the script. :v2_dizzy_confused2:
Does anyone know the solution?

Best regards
Kalle

Grandad
Hard Boiled Egg
Posts: 1571
Joined: Sat Aug 08, 2009 10:47 am
Location: Balham - gateway to the south

Re: Sound in DEV-MODE silent

Post by Grandad » Tue Jan 21, 2020 10:43 am

Hmm, try checking the following:
1) your speakers are turned on
2) the sound card is OK (check other programs)
3) the sound hasn't been turned down in the config file (picture of Dizzy called 'set up')
4) the file exists in the 'music' and 'sound' folders (and isn't an mp3 file)
5) there isn't a 'MusicStop' or 'MusicFade' command NOT followed by a 'MusicPlay' command in the same function.

Next, change the music file to ensure the original music file isn't corrupted.
Add the new music file to the music folder and give it a number ie 2 newmusic
Add the definition to the sound.gs file ie #def MUSIC_B 2
amend the gamedef file on default music ie #def MUSIC_DEFAULT 2

User avatar
Kalle Neumann
Your Backpack is Empty
Posts: 24
Joined: Sat Jan 18, 2020 5:16 pm
Location: Germany

Re: Sound in DEV-MODE silent

Post by Kalle Neumann » Tue Jan 21, 2020 8:13 pm

Hello Grandad,

I can rule out points 1 to 3. it all works fine.
point 4: is unchanged and ok.
5) there isn't a 'MusicStop' or 'MusicFade' command NOT followed by a 'MusicPlay' command in the same function.
Point 5: I'm still checking because I last copied and pasted a code to try. I think the dog is buried there :v2_dizzy_crazy:
I'll take care of that tomorrow...

Best regards

Kalle

User avatar
Noggin the Nog
Hard Boiled Egg
Posts: 445
Joined: Sun Jul 01, 2012 12:04 am

Re: Sound in DEV-MODE silent

Post by Noggin the Nog » Tue Jan 21, 2020 11:42 pm

Hi Kalle,

This has happened to me before. I never worked out why it happened, but I fixed it by deleting the dizzy.ini file and replacing it with a new copy.

Hope this helps

User avatar
Kalle Neumann
Your Backpack is Empty
Posts: 24
Joined: Sat Jan 18, 2020 5:16 pm
Location: Germany

Re: Sound in DEV-MODE silent

Post by Kalle Neumann » Wed Jan 22, 2020 9:54 pm

Good evening,
Hello Noggin the Nog.
Unfortunately I could not implement your tip, because after a long try I use an older working backup copy and then gradually insert all the codes again. Next time I'll try your suggestion right away. :tup:
Best regards
Kalle

Post Reply